Stop Putting it Off… Get Financially and Physically Fit

Cartoon courtesy of davewalkercartoons.com

Cartoon courtesy of davewalkercartoons.com

Readers, I’ve got an ugly admission to make to you today. It’s finally time for me to come clean about a little vice of mine. I love to procrastinate. I really do. There’s nothing like not doing what you should be. I relish my lazy moments of nothingness, and although I’m not exactly proud of this character flaw, it’s been a part of me for years.

It started years ago, with me putting off writing papers in high school. My skill at procrastinating only improved in college, and at this point, I’d consider myself a master of the art. However, there’s one thing that I’m making a concerted effort not to procrastinate these days: working out.

Hitting the gym is easily my favorite adult activity to procrastinate. It’s so easy to sit on the couch, especially with the excuse of blogging, instead of walking down the street to the gym for a workout.

Strangely, through the years I’ve learned that the more I work out, the more I’m in control of my personal budget, finances, and life in general. It’s an unusual relationship, but there is balance in my life between my bank accounts and my commitment to the gym. Going to the gym gives me the motivation and confidence to deal with my life, especially financially.  When I take responsibility for my health, I do so in every aspect of my life, from the physical to the financial and beyond.  As a result, the more in shape I am, the more in shape my money situation is. The less in shape I am… well, you get the idea.

Knowing this, I’ve committed to my personal and financial fitness. I’ve been hitting the gym at least 3 times per week consistently and dealing with financial challenges immediately, instead of putting them off. Hopefully I’ll reap two excellent results of this habit: it will this increase my bikini-readiness for the spring/summer, and will also help keep me motivated to stay on my personal path to financial freedom.

What do you think readers? Do you find that working out helps motivate you to take charge of your money? Do you think there is a connection between the two or is a bunch of malarky? 

Leave a Reply

