Goodbye 20, Hello 30

DSC_1169

Hello readers! I am turning the big 3-0 today, and I am super excited about it! I chose this image, because it’s a great metaphor for my 20’s.  It was crazy and exciting with lots of unexpected twists and turns.  Somehow, I still managed to hang on and enjoy the ride, just like I did on that waterside.  Anyway, lots of my friends are somewhat bummed about leaving their twenties behind, but I’m optimistic for the next decade and all the excitement I am certain it will bring. Here are 30 reasons why I’m looking forward to kissing my twenties goodbye:

  1. Independence. I support myself and do what I want, when I want. Booyah!
  2. Confidence. I know so much more about myself than I did at 20. I have a better sense of my personal and professional goals, higher self esteem, and feel far less shy about expressing myself to others.
  3. Career. I have a solid foundation in my field, and while there are lots of open doors, I am developing a sense of my niche and how to pursue my interest in it. Also, if I change my mind, there is plenty of time to go back to school.
  4. Family. I am no longer at odds with my family because I neither live with or depend on them financially. It has helped my relationships with family members tremendously.
  5. Money. I know so much more than I did at 20, and expect that my knowledge base will just keep growing and growing.
  6. Compassion. I have learned how to relate to others in meaningful ways, and understand where people are coming from. Turns out, there are a lot less assholes in the world than I originally thought.
  7. Community. I am learning how to participate in different communities – personal, professional, local, etc – and to make a difference in them.
  8. Love. I spent a lot of my twenties learning how to love myself. Once I learned to love myself, it opened up the opportunity to love someone else too. Yay!
  9. Forgiveness. I’ve been letting go of things that are bothering me. Instead of avoiding these issues, I confront them so I can forgive, forget and move on.
  10. Discretion. I am way better at knowing when to share different pieces of myself with different people. This has opened up lots more opportunities for networking.
  11. Friendship. I am incredibly rich in friends, and have lots of people who love and support me even when I fly off the handle. But I’ve been learning to give back to my friends, listen to, support, and love them unconditionally the way they do for me.
  12. Listening. I learned how to shut up and listen. It’s not all about me, and listening to others has had a profound effect on my social interactions.
  13. Relaxation. I no longer feel the urge to go out every night of the week. I value the time I spend at home relaxing with a good book or watching a favorite show.
  14. Food. I am eating way less junk food, and more real food. I’ve cut out soda and most processed foods and sweets. I’m eating way more fruits and veggies, and as a result, feel a lot better.
  15. Exercise. I hit the gym, play volleyball, go cycling, go swimming… the possibilities are endless. It’s hard to get started sometimes, but I never regret it.
  16. Vanity. I’m less obsessed with looking perfect, but somehow feel that I look better than ever. Maybe it’s the confidence.
  17. Dreams. I still have a bunch, but it’s pretty damn cool that I’ve achieved some already.
  18. Humility. I’ve had my butt kicked by the real world quite a bit, and I’m ok with that.
  19. Depth. There are many parts of my being, and I have had some time to work on the different dimensions that make up my core. In the process, I’ve discovered whole new pieces of myself that I never even knew existed.
  20. Work. I’ve worked hard, and am continuing to do so each and every day. I’m not afraid of it and I’m not lazy.
  21. Balance. On the subject of work, I have learned when enough is enough, and when to nurture myself. I’ve learned that if I don’t take care of me, I can’t be as productive as possible.
  22. Travel. I’ve been to some cool places. I’ve also lived in a couple of cities in the good old USA. I have lots more travel to do, and every trip I take makes me want to add 3 more to my bucket list.
  23. Budgeting. This is a super important skill that I learned through trial and error. Managing my money makes me feel in control of my life.
  24. Debt. I paid it off. Adios student loans and credit card debt!
  25. Indulgence. I do indulge sometimes, but I know that it’s got to be a treat and not a regular occurrence. Besides, a treat can’t be a treat if it’s a part of you every day routine.
  26. Experience. I buy a lot less stuff and a lot more experiences these days. For example, instead of buying a new pair of boots that I don’t really need, I buy tickets to the ballet instead. I’ve learned that it’s more fun and makes me happier than buying stuff.
  27. Acceptance. I’ve stopped trying to fix everyone and everything around me. Sometimes, you’ve just got to accept that people won’t change because they choose not to.
  28. Risk taking. Lately I’ve been way more open to taking measured risks. It’s opened lots of new doors and opportunities to me. I’ve let go of the rules that I thought existed, and am learning that it’s ok to not play it safe sometimes.
  29. Health. When I get sick, I take care of myself instead of pretending nothing is wrong until I’m really feeling crappy.
  30. Authenticity. I’ve comfortable being me when I am around others. I’m learning to interact with the world in my own skin, with my own thoughts and beliefs, and to be real in my exchanges with others.

I’ve transformed so much over the last decade, and can’t wait to continue to learn and grow. So, twenties, I’ve got nothing against you, but it’s time to move on. Goodbye 20’s and hello 30’s!!!

2 thoughts on “Goodbye 20, Hello 30

  1. Hmmmmm…..#8.. Love someone else. Ok can you loves him mucho so we can have rugrats in our family..Welcome to the 30’s and very well said. And by the way we loves you too..Happy Birthday “30”

Leave a Reply

